Spirit Award Nominations 2013 | Independent Spirit Award Nominations

The 2013 Independent Spirit Award Nominations are as follows:

Best Feature
Beasts of the Southern Wild- Producers: Michael Gottwald, Dan Janvey and Josh Penn
Bernie - Producers: Liz Glotzer, Richard Linklater, David McFadzean, Dete Meserve, Judd Payne, Celine Rattray, Martin Shafer, Ginger Sledge, Matt Williams
Keep the Lights On - Producers: Marie Therese Guirgis, Lucas Joaquin, Ira Sachs
Moonrise Kingdom - Producers: Wes Anderson, Jeremy Dawson, Steven Rales, Scott Rudin
Silver Linings Playbook -- Producers: Bruce Cohen, Donna Gigliotti, Jonathan Gordon

Best Director
Wes Anderson - Moonrise Kingdom
David O. Russell - Silver Linings Playbook
Julia Loktev- The Loneliest Planet
Ira Sachs -- Keep the Lights On
Benh Zeitlin -- Beasts of the Southern Wild

Best Screenplay
Wes Anderson - Moonrise Kingdom
David O. Russell - Silver Linings Playbook
Ira Sachs -- Keep the Lights On
Zoe Kazan -- Ruby Sparks
Martin McDonagh - Seven Psychopaths

Best First Feature
Fill the Void -- Director: Rama Burshtein; Producer: Assaf Amir
Gimme the Loot -- Director: Adam Leon; Producers: Dominic Buchanan, Natalie Difford, Jamund Washington
Safety Not Guaranteed -- Director: Colin Trevorrow; Producer: Derek Connolly, Stephanie Langhoff, Peter Saraf, Colin Trevorrow, MarcTurtletaub
Sound of My Voice -- Director: Zal Batmanglij; Producers: Brit Marling, Hans Ritter, Shelley Surpin
The Perks of Being a Wallfower -- Director: Stephen Chbosky; Producers: Lianne Halfon, John Malkovich, Russell Smith

Best First Screenplay
Rama Burshtein - Fill the Void  Derek Connolly -- Safety Not Guaranteed
Christopher Ford -- Robot & Frank
Rashida Jones and Will McCormack -- Celeste and Jesse Forever    
Jonathan Lisecki -- Gayby

John Cassavetes Award (given to best picture made for under $500K)
Breakfast with Curtis -- Writer/Director/Producer: Laura Colella
Middle of Nowhere -- Writer/Director/Producer: Ava DuVernay; Producers: Howard Barish, Paul Garnes
Mosquita y Mari -- Writer/Director:  Aurora Guerrero; Producer: Chad Burris
Starlet -- Writer/Director: Sean Baker; Producers: Blake Ashman-Kipervaser, Kevin Chinoy, Patrick Cunningham, Chris Maybach, FrancescaSilvestri
The Color Wheel -- Writer/Director/Producer: Alex Ross Perry; Writer: Carlen Altman Lianne Halfon, John Malkovich, Russell Smith

Best Female Lead
Linda Cardinelli - Return
Emayatzy Corinealdi- Middle of Nowhere
Jennifer Lawrence- Silver Linings Playbook
Quvenzhane Wallis -- Beasts of the Southern Wild
Mary Elizabeth Winstead -- Smashed

Best Male Lead
Jack Black- Bernie
Bradley Cooper- Silver Linings Playbook
John Hawkes- The Sessions
Matthew McConaughey -- Killer Joe
Wendell Pierce -- Four
Thure Lindhardt -- Keep the Lights On

Best Supporting Female
Rosemarie DeWitt -- Your Sister's Sister
Ann Dowd -- Compliance
Helen Hunt -- The Sessions
Brit Marling -- Sound of My Voice
Lorraine Toussant -- Middle of Nowhere

Best Supporting Male
Matthew McConaughey -- Magic Mike
David Oyelowo -- Middle of Nowhere
Michael Pena -- End of Watch
Sam Rockwell -- Seven Psychopaths
Bruce Willis -- Moonrise Kingdom

Best Cinematography
Yoni Brook -- Valley of Saints
Lol Crawley -- Here
Ben Richardson -- Beasts of the Southern Wild
Roman Vasyanov -- End of Watch
Robert Yeoman -- Moonrise Kingdom

Best Documentary
How to Survive a Plague -- Director: David France; Producers: David France, Howard Gertler
Marina Abramovic: The Artist Is Present -- Director: Matthew Akers; Producers: Maro Chermayeff, Jeff Dupre
The Central Park Five -- Directors/Producers: Ken Burns, Sarah Burns, David McMahon
The Invisible War -- Director: Kirby Dick; Producers: Tanner King Barklow, Amy Ziering
The Waiting Room -- Director/Producer: Peter Nicks; Producers: Linda Davis, William B. Hirsch

Best International Film
Amour -- Director: Michael Haneke
Once Upon a Time in Anatolia -- Director:  Nuri Bilge Ceylan
Rust and Bone -- Director: Jacques Audiard
Sister -- Director: Ursula Meier
War Witch -- Director: Kim Nguyen

Piaget Producers Award
Nobody Walks -- Producer: Alicia Van Couvering
Prince Avalanche -- Producer: Derrick Tseng
Stones in the Sun -- Producer: Mynette Louie
Someone to Watch Award
Pincus -- Director: David Fenster
Gimme the Loot -- Director: Adam Leon
Electrick Children -- Director: Rebecca Thomas

Truer Than Fiction Award
Leviathan -- Directors: Lucien Castaing-Taylor and Véréna Paravel
The Waiting Room -- Director: Peter Nicks
Only the Young -- Directors: Jason Tippet & Elizabeth Mims
Robert Altman Award
Starlet -- Director: Sean Baker; Casting Director: Julia Kim; Ensemble Cast: Dree Hemingway, Besedka Johnson, Karren Karagulian, Stella Maeve, James Ransone

Don Haderlein - PrEditor

Jane Says

Don Haderlein - PrEditor