Monday, November 14, 2011

AFI Film Festival Winners 2011

 The 2011 AFI Film Festival winners are as follows:


Breakthrough Section (award accompanied by a $5,000 cash prize)

WITH EVERY HEARTBEAT by Alexandra-Therese Keining
New Auteurs Section
BULLHEAD by Michaël R. Roskam
World Cinema Section
A tie: JIRO DREAMS OF SUSHI by David Gelb and KINYARWANDA by Alrick Brown
Young Americans Section
WUSS by Clay Liford

As in previous years, a jury determines the AFI FEST 2011 Live Action and Animated Short Film
Section Awards. The Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences recognizes each winner as a
qualifier for the annual Academy Awards®. The Short Film Jury – comprised of filmmakers Barry
Jenkins and Gerardo Naranjo (AFI Conservatory Class of 2001) and festival programmer Kim Yutani –
announced the awards with their statements.

Live Action Short Film Section
Grand Jury Prize: FROZEN STORIES from Grzegorz Jaroszuk “for its world of meta-reality suffused
with enough context to rend a beautifully nuanced story for the most heightened elements.”
Honorable Mention: BABYLAND by Marc Fratello “for its assured direction, stunning lead performance
and the ability to balance humor and pathos all the way up to its shocking conclusion.”

Animated Short Film Section
Grand Jury Prize: THE EAGLEMAN STAG by Michael Please “for its ambitious and elegant storytelling,
both narrative and aesthetically, in which the bigness of life and the concept of time are deftly
unpacked in a moving nine minutes.”

Honorable Mention: THE VOYAGERS by Penny Lane “for its skillful juxtaposition of archival footage
and personal narrative to tell a moving story of exploration, romance and space travel.”


This year AFI FEST debuts its New Auteurs Critic’s Prize selected by an esteemed panel of international
critics: Justin Chang (Variety), Mike Goodridge (Screen International), Mark Olsen (The Los Angeles
Times) and Jean Oppenheimer (American Cinematographer).
Grand Jury Prize: THE LONELIEST PLANET by Julia Loktev “for its bold exploration of societal structures
and gender roles, set against a landscape that conveys both profound beauty and profound

Special Jury Prize: ATTENBERG by Athina Rachel Tsangari “for its wit, distinct voice and playful sense
of storytelling.”
Acting Award Prize: BULLHEAD’s Matthias Schoenaerts “for his nuanced and intensely physical
embodiment of bruised masculinity.”

Director's Reel

Don Haderlein

Don Haderlein - PrEditor Reel

No comments: