Independent Spirit Award Winners 2011

Independent Spirit Award Winners 2011. The winners of film independent spirit awards are:

Best Feature
Black Swan

Best Director
Darren Aronofsky
Black Swan

Best Female Lead
Natalie Portman 
Black Swan

Best Male Lead
James Franco 
127 Hours

Best Supporting Female
Dale Dickey 
Winter’s Bone

Best Supporting Male
John Hawks 
Winter’s Bone

Best Screenplay
Stuart Blumberg, Lisa Cholodenko
The Kids Are All Right

Best First Feature
Get Low

Best Cinematography
Matthew Libatique
Black Swan

Best Foreign Film
The King’s Speech

Best Documentary
Exit through the Gift Shop

Robert AltmanAward
“Please Give” by Nicole Holofcener, Jeanne McCarthy, Ann Guilbert, Rebecca Hall, Catherine Keener, Amanda Peet, Oliver Platt, Lois Smith, and Sarah Steele

Piaget Producers Award
Anish Savjani for “Meek’s Cutoff”

Acura Someone to Watch Award
Mike Ott in “Littlerock”

AVEENO Truer than Fiction Award
 Jeff Malmberg in “Marwencol”

John Cassavetes Award
“Daddy Longlegs”

A Film by Director-Writer Don Haderlein

Independent Feature Film - Slamdance Award Winners 2011

Slamdance 2011 Award Winners. Below are the winners of the 2011 SlamDance Independent Film Festival.
Grand Jury Sparky Award for Best Narrative Film
Winner: STRANGER THINGS, written and directed by Eleanor Burke and Ron Eyal
Special Jury Mention: WITHOUT, written and directed by Mark Jackson
The Slamdance jury also recognized Joslyn Jensen with a special jury award for her performance in WITHOUT.

Grand Jury Sparky Award for Best Documentary Film
Winner: BHOPALI, directed by Van Maximillian Carlson
Special Jury Mention: FORDSON, directed by Rashid Ghazi

Grand Jury Sparky Award for Best Animated Short
Winner:  BOTTLE, written and directed by Kirsten Lepore

Grand Jury Sparky Award for Best Narrative Short
Winner: BIRD, written and directed by Petr Stupin
Special Jury Mention: SON OF NONE, written and directed by Todd Looby

Grand Jury Sparky Award for Best Documentary Short
Winner: OAKS, directed by Charles Wittenmeier


Audience Sparky Award for Best Narrative Film
Winner:  SILVER TONGUES, written and directed by Simon Arthur
Winner also receives $3,500 in Legal Services from Pierce Law Group

Audience Sparky Award for Best Documentary Film
Winner:  BHOPALI, directed by Van Maximilian Carlson
Winner also receives $3,500 in Legal Services from Pierce Law Group

Spirit of Slamdance Sparky Award
Winner: SHUNKA, directed by CJ Gardella
Awarded by the Class of 2011 filmmakers to the film teams that best embodies the spirit of the festival, creatively promoting their film, joyfully participating in screenings and events, as well as showing exceptional talent as an artist. Sponsored by Good Health.


Kodak Vision Award for Best Cinematography
Winner: SHUNKA, directed by CJ Gardella
Winner also receives 10,000 feet of Kodak film for the filmmaker to make their next feature

Panasonic AF100 Award for Best “Road yo Park City” Short Film Award
Winner: The Road to Park City Is Paved with Artists, written and directed by Kevin Brennan and Doug Manley
Director of Photgraphy, Louis Holland

Slamdance/Adobe Recut Competition Award
Winner: Nelson Vunda

Slamdance Theatrical Release Offer Award
Feature Winner: SUPERHEROES, directed by Michael Barnett; written by Michael Barnett & Theodore James
Short Winner: HELLO CALLER, directed by Andrew Putschoegl; written by Tom Lenk

Quicksand by Randy Todd

Directed by Don Haderlein

Sundance Film Festival Winners 2011

Sundance Film Festival Award  Winners 2011 are listed below. The 2011 Sundance Film Festival winners:
  • U.S. Documentary Direction Award:
John Foy, "Resurrect the Dead: The Mystery of the Toybee Tiles"
  • Waldo Salt Screenwriting Award
Sam Levinson, "Another Happy Day"
  • U.S. Documentary Editing Award:
"If A Tree Falls: A story of the Earth Liberation Front"
  • U.S. Dramatic Cinematography:
Bradford Young, "Pariah"
  • U.S. Documentary Cinematography Award:
"The Redemption of General Butt Naked"
  • Special Jury Award for Originality:
Mike Cahill and Brit Marling for "Another Earth"
  • Special Jury Award:
Felicity Jones, "Like Crazy"
  • Special Jury Dramatic Prize for "creating a documentary for all ages":
"Being Elmo" directed by Constance Marks
  • U.S. Dramatic Audience Award:
  • U.S. Documentary Audience Award:
"Buck," directed by Cindy Meehl

  • World Cinema Audience Award:
"Kinyarwanda," Directed and Written by Alrick Brown
  • World Cinema Direction:
Paddy Considine, "Tyrannasour"
  • World Cinema Jury Prize Dramatic:
"Happy Happy"
  • World Cinema Audience Award: Documentary:
"Senna", Directed by Asif Kapadia

  • World Cinema Cinematography Award, Dramatic:
"All Your Dead Ones"

  • World Cinema Cinematography Award, Documentary:
"Hell and Back Again"

  • World Cinema Documentary Editing Award:
"The Black Power Mixtape 1967-1975"

  • World Cinema Directing Award, Documentary:
"Project Nim," directed by James Marsh

  • World Cinema Special Jury Prize: Documentary
"Position Among The Stars"
  • World Cinema Special Jury Prize: Dramatic
"Tyrannosaur," for acting
  • Alfred P. Sloan Prize
"Another Earth," directed by Mike Cahill

  • Sundance/NHK International Filmmakers Award:
Cherien Dabis

Moonbeams by Don Haderlein