Friday, December 24, 2010

The 20th Anniversary Gotham Independent Film Award Winners 2010

The 20th Anniversary Gotham Independent Film Award™ Recipients:
Best Feature presented by actors Steve Buscemi and Melissa Leo.
Directed by Debra Granik; Produced by Anne Rosellini and Alix Madigan-Yorkin
Released by Roadside Attractions
The Best Feature Jury included: actors Ethan Hawke and Parker Posey; producer Christine Vachon; director Melvin Van Peebles and editor Tricia Cooke.
Best Documentary presented by actor Sam Rockwell and documentarian Barbara Kopple
Directed and produced by Laura Poitras
Released by Zeitgeist Films and American Documentary/POV
The Best Documentary Jury included: actor Alec Baldwin; composer Terence Blanchard; documentarians Barbara Kopple and Robert Kenner and editor Mary Lampson
Breakthrough Director Award presented by actors Julianna Margulies and Paul Rudd
Writer and director, HOLY ROLLERS
Released by First Independent Pictures
The Breakthrough Director Jury included: actor Zooey Deschanel; cinematographer Maryse Alberti; composer Carter Burwell; producer Frida Torresblanco.
Breakthrough Actor Award presented by actors Michelle Williams and Jesse Eisenberg
Released by IFC Films
The Breakthrough Actor Jury included: actor Josh Brolin; filmmakers David Gordon Green and Peter Sollett; actress Amber Tamblyn; and producer Monty Ross.
Best Ensemble Performance Award presented by actors Ethan Hawke and Ethan Coen.
Jennifer Lawrence, John Hawkes, Dale Dickey, Lauren Sweetser, Garret Dillahunt, Devin Breznahan
Released by Roadside Attractions
The Best Ensemble Performance Jury included: actors Anthony Mackie and Lili Taylor;
producer Lisa Cortes; writer Larry Gross; and filmmaker Miguel Arteta.
Best Film Not Playing at a Theater Near You Award presented by actor Rosie Perez and RBC CEO, Mark Standish
Mike Ott, director; Frederick Thornton, Laura Ragsdale, Sierra Leoni, producers
The recipient of The Best Film Not Playing at a Theater Near You™ award was determined by the editors of Filmmaker magazine, a publication of IFP, and a curator from The Museum of Modern Art.
The Festival Genius Audience Award presented by actors Anthony Mackie and Leighton Meester
Davis Guggenheim, director; Leslie Chilcott and Michael Brietal, producers
A total of 30 films received nominations in seven competitive categories, including: Best Feature, Best Documentary, Breakthrough Director, Breakthrough Actor, Best Ensemble Performance, Festival Genius Audience Award and Best Film Not Playing at a Theater Near YouThe Festival Genius Audience Award was voted on line by filmgoers who love movies.

No comments: