Canne Film Festival Winners 2010

Canne Film Festival Winners 2010

Listed below are the winners for the 2010 Canne International film festival.Since the first festival was organized in 1946, the major Cannes Film Festival award has been the Palme d’Or or Golden Palm (known as the Grand Prix until 1955) for best film. Other awards include best direction, best screenplay, best actor, best actress, the Grand Jury Prize, the Special Jury Prize, the Critics Award, and the Palme d’Or for Best Short Film.

American entries that went on to receive top honors at Cannes have included Steven Soderbergh's Sex, Lies and Videotape (1989), the Coen brothers' Barton Fink, (1991) and Quentin Tarantino's Pulp Fiction (1994). Most recently, the 2005 festival created a buzz when director Michael Moore won the Palme d'Or for his documentary film Fahrenheit 9/11.

Palme d'Or (Golden Palm): "Uncle Boonmee Who Can Recall His Past Lives" by Apichatpong Weerasethakul (Thailand)

Grand Prize: "Of Gods and Men" by Xavier Beauvois (France)

Jury Prize: "A Screaming Man" by Mahamat-Saleh Haroun (Chad)

Best Director: Mathieu Amalric for "On Tour" (France)

Best Actor: Javier Bardem, "Biutiful" (Mexico) and Elio Germano, "La Nostra Vita" (Italy)

Best Actress: Juliette Binoche, "Certified Copy" (Iran)

Best Screenplay: Lee Chang-Dong, "Poetry" (Korea)

Camera d'Or (first-time director): "Ano Bisiesto" by Michael Rowe (Mexico)

Best short film: "Chienne d'Histoire," by Serge Avedikian (France)

Jury Prize short film: "Micky Bader" (Bathing Micky) directed by Frida Kempff

Uli Jon Roth Interview

Don Haderlein - Preditor