Tuesday, December 22, 2009

Edinburgh Film Festival Winners 2009

Moon directed by Duncan Jones scooped the Michael Powell Award for Best New British Feature Film, sponsored by the UK Film Council.

Katie Jarvis picked up the PPG Award for Best Performance in a British Feature Film for her extraordinary debut in Fish Tank.

The award for Best New International Feature went to director Kyle Patrick Alvarez for his film Easier With Practice.

The Standard Life Audience Award as voted for by cinema-goers at EIFF went to animation The Secret Of Kells directed by Tomm Moore.

Director Aliona Van Der Horst picked up the award for Best Documentary about Russian poet Boris Ryzhy.

The Skillset New Directors Award went to Cary Joji Fukunaga for his stunning directorial debut in Sin Nombre.

‘Bromance’ comedy Humpday directed by Lynn Shelton was awarded The Rotten Tomatoes Critical Consensus Award.

Director Emma Sullivan’s After Tomorrow was awarded the UK Film Council Award for Best British Short Film.

The award for Best International Short Film went to Princess Margaret BLVD directed by Kazik Radwanksi.

The Scottish Short Documentary Award supported by Baillie Gifford was handed to director Johanna Wagner for 10 minute long film Peter In Radioland.

Director Laurie Hill’s Photograph Of Jesus scooped the McLaren Award for New British Animation in partnership with BBC Film Network.

Uli Jon Roth Interview

 Don Haderlein - PreEditor

No comments: