Venice Film Festival Winners 2009

Venice Film Independent Feature Film Festival Winners 2009


Lebanon by Samuel Maoz (Israel)

SILVER LION - Best Director

Shirin Neshat for Women Without Men (Germany/Austria/France)


Soul Kitchen by Fatih Akin

COPPA VOLPI - Best Actor

Colin Firth for A Single Man by Tom Ford (USA)

COPPA VOLPI - Best Actress

Ksenia Rappoport for by Patrick Mario Bernard and Pierre Trividic (France)

OSELLA - Best Screenplay

Todd Solondz for Life During Wartime (USA)

MARCELLO MASTROIANNI AWARD - Best Young Actor or Actress

Jasmine Trinca for Il Grande Sogno by Michelle Placido (Italy)

OSELLA - Best Production Designer

Sylvie Olive for Mr. Nobody by Jaco Van Dormael (France)


Engkwentro by Pepe Diokno (Philippines)


Cosmonauta by Susanna Nicchiarelli

QUEER LION - Best Gay Film:
A Single Man, directed by Tom Ford

Don Haderlein

Director's Reel

"The Patriot Act and the Current Threat To Our Civil Liberties" part 2

Don Haderlein

Toronto International Film Festival 2009 Winners

Cadillac People’s Choice Award:

Precious: Based on the Novel "Push" by Sapphire by Lee Daniels

Runners up: Mao's Last Dancer by Bruce Beresford, Micmacs by Jean-Pierre Jeunet

Cadillac People’s Choice Award For Documentary:

The Topp Twins
by Leanne Pooley

Runner up: Capitalism: A Love Story by Michael Moore

Cadillac People’s Choice Award For Midnight Madness:

The Loved Ones

Runner up: Daybreakers by Michael Spierig and Peter Spierig

City of Toronto and Astral Media’s The Movie Network Award For Best Canadian Feature Film:

Cairo Time by Ruba Nadda

SKYY Vodka Award For Best Canadian First Feature Film:

The Wild Hunt by Alexandre Franchi

Prizes of the International Critics (FIPRESCI Prize) for Special Presentations Section:

Hadewijch by Bruno Dumont

Prizes of the International Critics (FIPRESCI Prize) for Discovery Section:

The Man Beyond the Bridge by Laxmikant Shetgaonkar

Award For Best Canadian Short Film:

Danse Macabre by Pedro Pires

Honorable mention: The Armoire by Jamie Travis

Special Jury Citation from the Best Canadian Feature jury:

La Donation by Bernard Émond

Los Angeles Film Festival 2009 Winners

Target Filmmaker Award - Sam Fleischner and Ben Chace for "Wah Do Dem" ("What They Do")

Target Documentary Award - Juan Carlos Rulfo and Carlos Hagerman for "Those Who Remain" ("Los Que se Quedan")

Target Dream in Color Award
- Sam Rubin for "Lipstick"

Audience Award for Best Narrative Feature - "The Stoning of Soraya M.," directed by Cyrus Nowrasteh

Audience Award for Best Documentary Feature - "Soul Power," directed by Jeffrey Levy-Hinte

Audience Award for Best International Feature
- Eva Norvind's "Born Without" ("Nacido Sin")

Outstanding Performance in the Narrative Competition - Shayne Topp for his performance in Suzi Yoonessi's "Dear Lemon Lima"

Best Narrative Short Film - Antonio Mendez Esparza's "Time and Again"

Best Documentary Short Film - Anna Gaskell's "Replayground"

Best Animated Short Film - Jérémy Clapin's "Skhizein"

Audience Award for Best Short Film
- "Instead of Abracadabra," directed by Patrick Eklund

Audience Award for Best Music Video
- "Grapevine Fires," directed by Walter Robot for Death Cab for Cutie

 Letting Our Light Shine

Directed by Bernadette Haderlein