Canne Film Festival Winners 2009

Canne film festival started in 1946 to award and showcase European feature films. Canne has since become an international film market. Canne award winning films are often art films. The highest award is the Canne film festival Palme d'or or Golden Palm. Producers will often debut films there in hopes of securing an international film distribution deal.

Palme d'Or

Palme d'Or (Golden Palm):
The White Ribbon directed by Michael Haneke

Grand Prize (Runner Up):
Un Prophète (A Prophet) directed by Jacques Audiard

Special Jury Prize:
Alain Resnais director of Wild Grass (Les Herbes Folles)

Best Director:

Brillante Mendoza for Kinatay

Best Screenplay:
Feng Mei for Lou Ye's Spring Fever

Jury Prize:
Fish Tank directed by Andrea Arnold
Thirst directed by Park Chan-wook

Camera d'Or (First-Time Filmmaker):
Samson and Delilah directed by Warwick Thornton

Best Leading Actor:

Christoph Waltz in Inglourious Basterds

Best Leading Actress:

Charlotte Gainsbourg in Antichrist

Un Certain Regard Prize:

Dogtooth (Kynodntas) directed by Yorgos Lanthimos

Jury Prize:
Police, Adjective (Politist, Adjectiv) directed by Corneliu Porumboiu

Special Jury Prize:

No One Knows About Persian Cats directed by Bahman Ghobadi
Father of My Children (Le Père de mes Enfants) directed by Mia Hansen-Løve

DHP Productions

Don Haderlein Productions