Monday, March 23, 2009

Independent Spirit Awards 2009

The Independent Spirit Awards began in 1984. They are awards given to independent filmmakers and their films. The original award show was called the FINDIE. The Independent Spirit Awards changed their name again in 2005 from IFP West to the Film Independent Spirit Awards. Below are the nominations and winners for the 2009 Independent Spirit Awards.

Spirit Award Best Feature Nominees

* The Wrestler WINNER
* Ballast
* Frozen River
* Rachel Getting Married
* Wendy and Lucy

Spirit Award Best Director Nominees

* Tom McCarthy for The Visitor WINNER
* Ramin Bahrani for Chop Shop Movie
* Jonathan Demme for Rachel Getting Married
* Lance Hammer for Ballast
* Courtney Hunt for Frozen River

Spirit Award Best First Feature Nominees

* Synecdoche, New York WINNER
* Afterschool
* Medicine for Melancholy
* Sangre De Me Sangre
* Sleep Dealer

Spirit Award Best Male Lead Nominees

* Mickey Rourke for The Wrestler WINNER
* Javier Bardem for Vicky Cristina Barcelona
* Richard Jenkins for The Visitor
* Sean Penn for Milk
* Jeremy Renner for The Hurt Locker

Spirit Award Best Female Lead Nominees

* Melissa Leo for Frozen River WINNER
* Summer Bishil for Towelhead
* Anne Hathaway for Rachel Getting Married
* Tarra Riggs for Ballast
* Michelle Williams for Wendy and Lucy

Spirit Award Best Supporting Male Nominees

* James Franco for Milk - WINNER

* Anthony Mackie for The Hurt Locker
* Charlie McDermott for Frozen River
* JimMyron Ross for Ballast
* Haaz Sleiman for The Visitor

Spirit Award Best Supporting Female Nominees

* Penelope Cruz for Vicky Cristina Barcelona WINNER
* Rosemarie DeWitt for Rachel Getting Married
* Rosie Perez for The Take
* Misty Upham for Frozen River
* Debra Winger for Rachel Getting Married

Spirit Award Best Screenplay Nominees

* Woody Allen for Vicky Cristina Barcelona WINNER
* Anna Boden and Ryan Flick for Sugar
* Charlie Kaufman for Synecdoche New York
* Howard A Rodman for Savage Grace
* Jenny Lumet for Rachel Getting Married

Spirit Award Best First Screenplay Nominees

* Dustin Lance Black for Milk - WINNER
* Lance Hammer for Ballast
* Courtney Hunt for Frozen River
* Jonathan Levine for The Wackness
* Jenny Lumet for Rachel Getting Married

Spirit Award Best Foreign Film Nominees

* The Class WINNER
* Gomorra
* Hunger
* Secret of the Grain
* Silent Light

Spirit Award Best Documentary Nominees

* Man on Wire WINNER
* The Betrayal
* Encounters at the End of the World
* The Order of Myths
* Up the Yangtze

Spirit Award Best Cinematography Nominees

* Maryse Alberti for The Wrestler WINNER
* Lol Crawley for Ballast
* James Laxton for Medicine for Melancholy
* Harris Savides for Milk
* Michael Simmonds for Chop Shop

John Cassavetes Award

* In Search of a Midnight Kiss, Alex Holdridge, Seth Caplan and Scoot McNairy WINNER
* Prince of Broadway, Sean Baker and Darren Dean
* The Signal, David Bruckner, Dan Bush, Jacob Gentry and Alexander Motlagh
* Take Out, Sean Baker and Shih-Ching Tsou
* Turn the River, Chris Eigeman and Ami Armstrong

Robert Altman Award

* Synecdoche New York

Piaget Producers Award Nominees

* Heather Rae for Frozen River, WINNER
* Lars Knudsen and Jay Van Hoy for Treeless Mountain, I'll Come Running
* Jason Orans for Goodbye Solo, Year of the Fish

No comments: